Vincent Ho, Karis Teetan and Lyle Hewitson complete 2023 LONGINES IJC line-up

22/11/2023 23:43

Vincent Ho, Karis Teetan and Lyle Hewitson will join Zac Purton as Hong Kong’s four representatives in the 2023 LONGINES International Jockeys’ Championship on Wednesday, 6 December at Happy Valley.

Crowned 2022/23 Hong Kong Champion Jockey, Zac Purton has the first of four berths allocated to riders from Hong Kong’s talent pool. Ho will participate in the event as the leading homegrown jockey with 13 victories, while Teetan and Hewitson fill the remaining positions allocated with 20 and 10 wins this season, respectively (as of 22 November).

The list of this year’s invited jockeys for the LONGINES IJC was released on 13 November.

The full list of 12 jockeys who will participate in the 2023 LONGINES International Jockeys’ Championship is as follows:

List of invited jockeys for 2023 LONGINES IJC

  Jockey Remarks
Reigning IJC Champion Tom Marquand LONGINES IJC winner (2022).
British Champion Apprentice (2015).
Champion Jockey Zac Purton 2017, 2020 and 2021 LONGINES IJC winner. Six-time Hong Kong Champion Jockey (2013/14, 2017/18, 2018/19, 2019/20, 2021/22 & 2022/23). Brisbane Champion Jockey (2003 – when still an apprentice).
Australia Rachel King Sydney Champion Apprentice (2016/17).
Great Britain Ryan Moore Two-time winner of both the LONGINES IJC (2009 & 2010) and three-time winner of LONGINES World’s Best Jockey Award (2014, 2016 & 2021). Three-time British Flat Racing Champion Jockey (2006, 2008 & 2009).
Great Britain Hollie Doyle Set a new record for most wins by a female jockey in a British calendar year in 2021.
France Mickael Barzalona Teenage winner of the G1 Derby at Epsom in 2011 and has since enhanced his reputation, notably riding for Andre Fabre and Godolphin.   
French Flat Racing Champion Jockey (2021).
Germany Bauyrzhan Murzabayev Four-time Germany Champion Jockey (2019, 2020, 2021 & 2022).
Japan Yuga Kawada 2019 World All-Star Jockeys champion. One of nine jockeys in JRA history to have won all five classic races. 
JRA Champion Jockey (2022).
New Zealand James McDonald Six-time Sydney Champion Jockey (2013/14, 2015/16, 2018/19, 2019/20, 2020/21 & 2021/22). Two-time New Zealand Champion Jockey (2008/09 & 2010/11). Second in 2011 & 2021 IJC and third in 2014.
Hong Kong, China Vincent Ho Leading homegrown jockey (as of 22 November).
Hong Kong Champion Apprentice (2010/11).
Best Freelance Jockey Award (2014/15). Four-time Tony Cruz Award winner (2018/19, 2019/20, 2020/21 & 2022/23).
Hong Kong, China Karis Teetan 2019 LONGINES IJC winner. South Africa Champion Apprentice (2008).
Hong Kong, China Lyle Hewitson Two-time South Africa Champion Apprentice (2016/17 & 2017/18).
Three-time South Africa Champion Jockey (2017/18, 2019/20 & 2020/21).

Featured News