Chairman’s Sprint Prize

Promoted to international Group 1 status in 2016, the Chairman's Sprint Prize brings together the best sprinters from Hong Kong and abroad for a memorable late-season clash, complementing the FWD Champions Mile and the FWD QEII Cup, for the FWD Champions Day in April.

The race has been run since Sha Tin was first opened in the 1978/79 season – first as the Hong Kong Sprint Championship, then as the Chairman's Prize before adopting its familiar moniker in 2001 – and is a target for Hong Kong's finest speedsters over the years, with notable winners including Fairy King Prawn (1999 & 2001), Silent Witness (2004 & 2005), Sacred Kingdom (2008 & 2010) and Lucky Nine (2013 & 2014).

In 2016, the Chairman's Sprint Prize was opened to international competition for the first time. In a memorable finish, Australian grey Chautauqua stormed home from last to beat Hong Kong's Lucky Bubbles in a perfect demonstration of the contest's global stature. Home runners have won the last five renewals, including Wellington for trainer Richard Gibson last year.

The prize money of the six furlong contest will be further increased to HK$20 million in 2022.

Past 10 Winners

Year Horse Name Jockey Trainer Replay Result
2021 WELLINGTON A Badel R Gibson
2020 MR STUNNING K Teetan F C Lor
2019 BEAT THE CLOCK J Moreira J Size
2018 IVICTORY Z Purton J Size
2017 LUCKY BUBBLES H Bowman K W Lui
2016 CHAUTAUQUA T Berry M Hawkes
2015 GOLD-FUN C Soumillon R Gibson
2014 LUCKY NINE B Prebble C Fownes
2013 LUCKY NINE B Prebble C Fownes
2012 JOY AND FUN B Doyle D Cruz

Key Dates

            • March 14 – Free entries close
            • April 4 – Supplementary entries close
            • April 21 – Declarations to run