The Race

  • Race 7:16:05
  • Group:G3
Prize Money
  • Prize Money:HK$ 3.7 million
  • Distance:Turf, "C+3" Course, 1800M

Past 10 Winners


Year Horse Trainer Jockey Replay Trophy
2020 FURORE A S Cruz J Moreira
2019 SOUTHERN LEGEND C Fownes A Sanna
2018 TIME WARP A S Cruz Z Purton
2017 NASSA A T Millard C Schofield
2016 HORSE OF FORTUNE A T Millard K Teetan
2015 TOP ACT A T Millard R Fourie
2014 PACKING LLAREGYB A Schutz M Demuro
2013 ENDOWING J Size T Angland
2012 PACKING WHIZ J Moore B Prebble
2011 JACOBEE J Moore T Clark

About the race

First run in 1846, the Ladies’ Purse is one of Hong Kong’s oldest races. In a tradition established for over a century, ladies would attend the event dressed in their finest outfits, while the jockey of the winning horse would be awarded gold sovereigns by an unmarried young lady. Nowadays, the winning owner, trainer and jockey are presented with a gold coin inside a purse as a memento in honour of this venerable tradition.