• Race 4: 14:10
  • Group: G1
  • Prize Money: HK$22 million
  • Distance: Turf, "A" Course, 2400M

The LONGINES Hong Kong Vase was introduced to the December programme in 1994 and it was France-trained runner Red Bishop that took the inaugural prize.

This 2400m showpiece event was upped to international Group 2 level in 1996, before being upgraded to Group 1 when Daliapour won in 2000. Among the winners of this prestigious contest are the outstanding English race mare Ouija Board, Japan’s Stay Gold and Satono Crown, the English St Leger hero Mastery, popular globetrotter Red Cadeaux, Dunaden, who in 2011 became the first Melbourne Cup winner to lift the Vase, and trainer Aidan O’Brien’s two-time race winner, Highland Reel. In 2020, O’Brien became the winningmost trainer in the race with his third win follow Mogul’s runaway triumph under Ryan Moore.

The total prize money of the LONGINES Hong Kong Vase has increased to HK$22 million this year. The race ranked equal 44th in the World’s Top 100 Group 1 Races last year.

Past 10 Winners

Year Horse Name Country/Region Trainer Jockey Replay
2021 GLORY VASE (JPN) JPN T Ozeki J Moreira
2020 MOGUL (GB) IRE A P O’Brien R Moore
2019 GLORY VASE (JPN) JPN T Ozeki J Moreira
2018 EXULTANT (IRE) HK A S Cruz Z Purton
2017 HIGHLAND REEL (IRE) IRE A P O’Brien R Moore
2016 SATONO CROWN (JPN) JPN N Hori J Moreira
2015 HIGHLAND REEL (IRE) IRE A P O’Brien R Moore
2014 FLINTSHIRE (GB) FR A Fabre M Guyon
2013 DOMINANT (IRE) HK J Moore Z Purton
2012 RED CADEAUX (GB) GB E A L Dunlop G Mosse

Key Dates

              • October 17 – Free entries close for overseas horses
              • October 24 – Free entries close for HK trained horses
              • November 21 – Supplementary Entries Close for HK trained horses
              • December 8 – Declarations to run