• Race 5: 14:50
  • Group: G1
  • Prize Money: HK$24 million
  • Distance: Turf, "A" Course, 1200M

The LONGINES Hong Kong Sprint was the fourth and final international race added to the event when it was first run, as a Listed race, in 1999. Fairy King Prawn proved a fittingly top-class first winner. The race attained Group 3 status in 2000 and Group 2 one year later. In 2002, the Sprint became the last of the HKIR features to attain Group 1 status, so establishing the four-race Group 1 format we know today. The race distance was upped from 1000m to 1200m in 2006.

The race has a most illustrious roll of honour, featuring superstars Silent Witness and Sacred Kingdom from Hong Kong and Japan’s greatest sprinter, the exceptional Lord Kanaloa as well as Aerovelocity and Mr Stunning in recent times, both dual winners. The total prize money of the LONGINES Hong Kong Sprint now carries HK$24 million.

Past 10 Winners

Year Horse Name Country/Region Trainer Jockey Replay
2021 SKY FIELD (AUS) HK C Fownes B Shinn
2020 DANON SMASH (JPN) JPN T Yasuda R Moore
2019 BEAT THE CLOCK (AUS) HK J Size J Moreira
2018 MR STUNNING (AUS) HK F C Lor K Teetan
2017 MR STUNNING (AUS) HK J Size N Rawiller
2016 AEROVELOCITY (NZ) HK P O’Sullivan Z Purton
2015 PENIAPHOBIA (IRE) HK A S Cruz J Moreira
2014 AEROVELOCITY (NZ) HK P O’Sullivan Z Purton
2013 LORD KANALOA (JPN) JPN T Yasuda Y Iwata
2012 LORD KANALOA (JPN) JPN T Yasuda Y Iwata

Key Dates

              • October 17 – Free entries close for overseas horses
              • October 24 – Free entries close for HK trained horses
              • November 21 – Supplementary Entries Close for HK trained horses
              • December 8 – Declarations to run