Champions Mile

The Champions Mile is Hong Kong's leading mile feature in the spring, having been established in 2001 as a late-season contest for Hong Kong's dominant mile division.

It is a race that has traditionally been dominated by the home team, most recently won by Contentment in 2017. There are only two overseas winners since the doors were thrown open to international visitors in 2005. South African superstar Variety Club blitzed his rivals to create history in 2014, while he was joined by Japanese champion Maurice in 2016. The Champions Mile was ranked equal 65th in the World’s Top G1 Races in 2017. Its prize money is increased to HK$18 million in 2018.

John Moore has won the race more than any other handler with six successes – two to Able One (2007 & 2010), two to Xtension (2011 & 2012) and one each to Dan Excel (2013) and Able Friend (2015).

Past 10 Winners

Year Horse Name Jockey Trainer Replay
2017 CONTENTMENT B Prebble J Size
2016 MAURICE J Moreira N Hori
2015 ABLE FRIEND J Moreira J Moore
2014 VARIETY CLUB A Marcus M F de Kock
2013 DAN EXCEL W C Marwing J Moore
2012 XTENSION J McDonald J Moore
2011 XTENSION D Beadman J Moore
2010 ABLE ONE D Beadman J Moore
2009 SIGHT WINNER B Prebble J Size
2008 GOOD BA BA O Doleuze A Schutz

Key Dates

  • March 19 – Free entries close
  • April 9 – Supplementary entries close
  • April 26 – Declarations to run