Chairman’s Sprint Prize

Only recently upgraded to international Group 1 status, the Chairman's Sprint Prize brings together the best sprinters from Hong Kong and abroad for a memorable late-season clash, complementing the Champions Mile and the Audemars Piguet QE II Cup.

Run since Sha Tin was first opened in the 1978/79 season – first as the Hong Kong Sprint Championship, then as the Chairman's Prize before adopting its familiar moniker in 2001 – it has been a target for Hong Kong's finest speedsters over the years, with winners like Fairy King Prawn (1999 & 2001), Silent Witness (2004 & 2005), Sacred Kingdom (2008 & 2010) and Lucky Nine (2013 & 2014).

In 2016, the Chairman's Sprint Prize was opened to international competition for the first time. In a memorable finish, Australian grey Chautauqua stormed home from last to beat Hong Kong's Lucky Bubbles in a perfect demonstration of the contest's global stature. A year later, Lucky Bubbles atoned for that defeat, taking victory over eventual Hong Kong Sprint winner Mr Stunning.

The race was ranked equal 34th in the World’s Top 100 G1 Races in 2017, the highest among all G1s in Hong Kong for that calendar year. Prize money has been further increased to HK$16 million in 2018.

Past 10 Winners

Year Horse Name Jockey Trainer Replay
2017 LUCKY BUBBLES H Bowman K W Lui
2016 CHAUTAUQUA T Berry M Hawkes
2015 GOLD-FUN C Soumillon R Gibson
2014 LUCKY NINE B Prebble C Fownes
2013 LUCKY NINE B Prebble C Fownes
2012 JOY AND FUN B Doyle D Cruz
2011 DIM SUM O Doleuze J Moore
2010 SACRED KINGDOM B Prebble P F Yiu
2009 DIM SUM J Winks J Moore

Key Dates

  • March 19 – Free entries close
  • April 9 – Supplementary entries close
  • April 26 – Declarations to run