Jockey Club Sprint

    • Race 5 15:05
    • Group: G2
    • Prize Money: HK$4.5 million
    • Distance: 1200M

    The Jockey Club Sprint was first run as the Sprint Trial Trophy in 1999 as an open handicap, a month before the Hong Kong Sprint was first run that same year. Matching the promotion of the Hong Kong Sprint as an international G1 event, the race was renamed the International Sprint Trial and run as a HKG3 over 1000m in 2002. The race was promoted to HKG2 status in 2003 and in 2007 the race distance was extended to 1200m.

    The race opened to overseas competition in 2009 before its upgrade to international G2 status and change to its current name Jockey Club Sprint the following year. Silent Witness, Sacred Kingdom, Little Bridge, Lucky Nine, Mr Stunning and last year’s victor Aethero are among some of the notable past winners. Singapore’s sprinting ace Rocket Man remains the only overseas winner in this and all three Jockey Club Races to date, when he dead-heated with One World in the 2010 edition. The race’s prize money has increased to HK$4.5 million this season.

    Past 10 Winners

    Year Horse Name Trainer Jockey Replay
    2019 Aethero J Moore K Teetan
    2018 Hot King Prawn J Size J Moreira
    2017 Mr Stunning J Size N Rawiller
    2016 Not Listenin’Tome J Moore H Bowman
    2015 Gold-fun R Gibson C Soumillon
    2014 Peniaphobia A S Cruz D Whyte
    2013 Charles The Great J Moore D Whyte
    2012 Lucky Nine C Fownes B Prebble
    2011 Little Bridge C S Shum G Mosse
    2010 One World J Moore D Beadman