Dec 8 LONGINES International Jockeys’ Championship

The LONGINES International Jockeys' Championship lives up to its reputation as the premier contest of its kind on the global calendar. On Wednesday, December 8 at Happy Valley Racecourse, an all-star cast of some of the world’s best jockeys vied for a record HK$800,000 prize shared by the top three riders. The first of the major events in a week-long celebration of international racing, it is followed by the LONGINES Hong Kong International Races on Sunday, December 12 at Sha Tin Racecourse.

Past winners include Douglas Whyte, Ryan Moore, Joao Moreira, Hugh Bowman, Silvestre de Sousa and 2020’s champion Zac Purton.

The LONGINES IJC’s four races were scheduled as races 4, 5, 7 and 8. Jockeys are awarded 12 points for a race win, 6 points for finishing 2nd, and 4 points for 3rd. The jockey with the highest points accumulated will be the night’s champion, as well as the evening’s Jockey Challenge winner.


Year Jockey
2021 Zac Purton
2020 Zac Purton
2019 Karis Teetan
2018 Silvestre de Sousa
2017 Zac Purton
2016 Hugh Bowman
2015 Gavin Lerena
2014 Yuichi Fukunaga
2013 Kerrin McEvoy
2012 Joao Moreira
2011 Lanfranco Dettori
2010 Ryan Moore
2009 Christophe Lemaire
Ryan Moore
John Murtagh
2008 Douglas Whyte